Australian Sports Commission logoAustralian Institute of Sport logo
 Sports Directory
sports contacts
 Calendar of Events
sports events, conferences
 NSO Online
information for NSOs

You are here: Home >> About ASC >> Media & Public Relations >> Media releases

29 March 2007

Australia’s best young basketballers unveiled at Australian Institute of Sport

Australia’s best young basketballers were unveiled at the 2007 Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) Men’s and Women’s Basketball program launch in Canberra today.

The AIS Basketball program, through the Australian Sports Commission, was established in 1981 and is widely recognised as one of the world’s leading development programs.

The world’s No.1 women’s basketball player Lauren Jackson, along with Australia’s first ever No.1 NBA draft pick Andrew Bogut, both progressed from the AIS Basketball program.  

The AIS 2007 men’s program has eight players that competed in last year’s SEABL East Conference League returning with eleven new scholarship holders added to the squad.

AIS men’s Coach Marty Clarke says ‘the Institute’s 2007 program is again looking strong with a number of outstanding young players possessing great athletic ability and work ethic.’

Sixteen scholarship holders from the 2007 AIS men’s program are also members of the Australian Under-20 squad.

AIS Women’s and Australian Gems Coach Dean Kinsman said he was pleased with the progress of his squad.

‘We have 13 players returning from last year’s program, joining three new members on scholarship,’ Kinsman said.

‘We have a good blend of experience, size and athleticism within the current squad and most importantly players with a good work ethic.’

AIS Director Professor Peter Fricker said the Institute, in partnership with Basketball Australia, is continuing to help strengthen Australian basketball through the development of talented junior athletes.

‘The AIS Basketball program aims to equip our juniors with the mental, physical and tactical skills needed to perform at league, national and international levels,’ Professor Fricker said.

‘We are extremely proud of our record and tradition of producing talented basketball players who have gone on to excel at the elite level of the game.’

AIS basketballers Patrick Mills and Nicole Hunt were awarded the 2007 Rob Staunton Medal adjudged the best Institute players at the Under-20 National Championships. 

A full list of the 2007 AIS Men’s and Women’s Basketball squad is attached.

Contact: David Packwood AIS Media Officer Phone: 02 62141476 / 0408 417894

2007 AIS Basketball Scholarship Holders


  • Kyle Armour (WA)
  • Zac Carter (QLD)
  • Nathan Crombie (QLD)
  • Matthew Dellavedova (VIC)
  • Tyson Demos (NSW)
  • Ben Dowdwell (NSW)
  • Cameron Gliddon (WA)
  • Shane Harris-Tunks (NSW)
  • Daniel Johnson (WA)
  • Ben Louis (VIC)
  • Pat Mills (ACT)
  • Andrew Ogilvy (NSW)
  • Jorden Page (QLD)
  • Dwayne Radcliffe (TAS)
  • Christian Salecich (QLD)
  • Shannon Seebohm (SA)
  • Ben Smith (WA)
  • Clint Steindl (QLD)
  • Mitchell Young (QLD)


  • Stephanie Cumming (VIC)
  • Katie Rae Ebzery (NSW)
  • Cayla Francis (SA)
  • Kate Gaze (NSW)
  • Nicole Hunt (VIC)
  • Ellyce Ironmonger (WA)
  • Jaimee Kennedy (NSW Country)
  • Emma Langford (SA Country)
  • Molly Lewis (NSW Country)
  • Ellie Manou (NSW)
  • Nikita-Lee Martin (SA)
  • Sarah McAppion (ACT)
  • Mia Newley (SA)
  • Rebecca Schatz (QLD)
  • Marianna Tolo (QLD North)
  • Caitlin Rowe (ACT)